Logged in Pages vs Non-Logged in Pages

Hi, I’m fairly new to SLIM and enjoying it but having trouble finding current examples using V3.*

How do i handle a user’s logged in state and route accordingly?

Should I be using $_SESSION[] to store a hash and then load user attributes and then route accordingly?

How would I allow non-logged-in users to visit route: mysite.com/about, mysite.com/login, but prevent non-logged-in access to mysite.com/admin ?

I would really appreciate if someone could provide some examples to get me started - thanks!

Typically you would do this with Middleware. Any routes requiring an authenticated user would have some sort of an authentication middleware. Such a route might look like this.

$app->get('/admin', function ($request, $response) {
    return $response->getBody()->write('Logged In');
})->add('App\Middleware\Authentication');

The Authentication Middleware might then look something like this:

<?php

namespace App\Middleware;

class Authentication
{
    /**
     * Authentication middleware invokable class
     * @param  \Psr\Http\Message\ServerRequestInterface $request  PSR7 request
     * @param  \Psr\Http\Message\ResponseInterface      $response PSR7 response
     * @param  callable                                 $next     Next middleware
     * @return \Psr\Http\Message\ResponseInterface
    **/
    public function __invoke(Request $request, Response $response, $next)
    {
        if (!$user->loggedIn()) {
            return $response->withRedirect($this->router->pathFor('login'), 403);
        }
        $response = $next($request, $response);
        return $response;
    }
}

okay cool thanks. I’ll be honest - I have no idea what __invoke() is there for - I’m guessing it’s called automatically via $app somehow. I won’t get to try this out until tomorrow but just thinking ahead with curiousity:

$app->get('/admin', function ($request, $response) {
    return $response->getBody()->write('Logged In');