The best way to learn Slim 3 as a Beginner

Hello everyone,I have been learning to code on treehouse and loving the experience, now one of the courses in a PHP course introduced me to Slim, the only problem was it was with the 2.6 version First.

I have to say I am using Mamp as a local server and I have installed Composer, Slim, and Twig through the terminal. As a beginner, i have been trying to follow the First Application walkthrough and it has been a challenge introducing me to things I knew nothing about, which I am enjoying.

I got the first app to work with the hello joebloggs, which is awesome now because I do not know a huge amount of PHP the next steps are hard to understand, do you use all the commands in the walk through or just pick and choose the things you need. tried looking for courses online but since Slim 3 is only recent everyone is still teaching in the older version for beginners. Can anyone point me in the right direction to get a grass roots grasp of Slim?

Looking forward to any help you can give.

1 Like

Hi there, @Kiwisox!

I think the way you should look at approaching it is that you are not learning Slim, but learning PHP. Once you learn enough about PHP you will find picking up Slim is easy with the available tutorials.

As you have seen, many of these tutorials assume a decent knowledge of PHP and teach what is unique to Slim. Instead, what it seems like you might need is more basics on PHP so that you can understand the specifics of Slim.

As a microframework, Slim provides little structure. You are free to build your app in a variety of different ways. That loose structure can make it more challenging to learn than other frameworks.

Here are resources I’ve found helpful.

Start simple, get some basic things working, and build upon your success. Ask questions when you have them. Don’t hesitate to play with other frameworks too. Seeing the similarities and differences between the frameworks can also be a good way to learn. :grinning: