Deploying Slim to an existing website

I have got a working website where I wish to replace my plain php json encoded data with Slim 4. Using Wampserver I am able to set-up the Slim 4 framework and it is working IF the website is placed on a different folder (localhost/project) and the slim 4 framework is virtually hosted as “slim” for example. I could combine the files of the website and the slim framework and the website will work with “localhost/slim” where slim is the folder where the slim framework is also stored.

Now I am not sure how to make this work online. Locally, I virtually hosted the public folder of the slim framework hence it worked. When hosted online, how would I be able to set it up so that I could access my APIs? And how would I combine my existing website with that of the slim framework? I added an .htaccess file in the root (public) of my website but it generates a “404 Not Found” error when I am accessing it.

I am very new to using a REST API framework so please be kind to me. :slight_smile: TIA

EDIT: when I place the .htaccess in the root folder of my website I am able to access my API’s but not the index.php of my website. Do I need to modify the .htaccess file or should I change the structure of my website?

Hello @dee-u You have to set the correct basePath depending on your environment (development, prod, etc).This basepath middleware works for me: basepath

It is just working fine in my development, my problem is when it is hosted online. Adding .htaccess in the root directory prevents me from accessing the index.php, while if I remove it then the APIs are not accessible. How should I use basePath to remedy my problem?

You should not allow direct access from “the web” to your public/index.php file. The public/index.php file should be “invisible” and is never part of the url. That’s why you should always add at the .htaccess file to your public/ directory (for development AND production).