Refactor code that was using $GLOBALS?

I’m new to using Slim 3, and have found it relatively quick to pick up – until this (major) hiccup. I have some model classes that do basic CRUD stuff with a database. The PDO DB connection lives at $GLOBALS[‘db’], which is referenced in my model classes. Apparently, Slim is completely incompatible with $GLOBALS (Please tell me this is wrong)?! I’ve made a service for the DB connection instead, but I’m still in the dark about how to actually access this in my regular old PHP classes. I’d rather not have to refactor my models in any significant manner (e.g. implementing new interfaces etc), and it seems like it shouldn’t be necessary. I’m sure I’m missing something completely obvious but the documentation doesn’t really directly address this, and I’m sure someone more familiar with Slim 3 could help me out. Thanks in advance.

Update: I see that $GLOBALS does in fact work, but I can’t initialize a PDO DB connection there… I’ve tested it with arrays and strings, no problems. What gives? My PDO connection code is fine.

Update: I have a potato for a brain. Please delete this thread. restart httpd ftw :frowning:

Try to approach this kind of issues using singleton pattern. Using patterns is a best way to solve problems

Read the link, good information. I often look for design patterns to approach a problem in the best fashion, but I don’t see the value of using the Singleton pattern here. The global pdo connection is only referenced in the abstract parent class of my models, and is established in my index.php. While someone could technically create a new connection somewhere, they could do that anyway if they didn’t know to use my singleton PDO wrapper class. Is your objection to referencing the super global $GLOBALS array? As opposed to referencing a static method of a Singleton class? Singleton or not, there is global state; I’d argue that $GLOBALS is the better place for global state to live for the sake of transparency.