Routing cache seems useless in Slim 4

Hi!

First of all, I’m a newbie in the Slim framework.

Everything is going fine except the router cache. I thought if I enabled cache using:

$app->getRouteCollector()->setCacheFile(...)

I can now disable all my manual routing definitions and use a cache file instead. But it seems I still need routing definitions alongside the cache file.

That’s how any cache should work otherwise - why the hell do I need this cache file if I’m anyway should manually do the same, but now with the cache file present? What is the benefit of using this cache file then?

Is there anything I’m missing, or is it expected behavior?

I understand the callable can not be serialized, but at least PHP-DI resolved this issue by code generation, like:

protected function get3()
{
    $object = new \Service();
    return $object;
}

or

protected function get1()
    {
        return $this->resolveFactory(static function (\Psr\Container\ContainerInterface $container): \Slim\App {
        $app = \Slim\Factory\AppFactory::createFromContainer($container);

return $app;
    }, 'Slim\\App');
}

Why can’t routing be cached in that way?

Hi @sanich

Under the hood Slim uses FastRoute as Router and this routing cache file is designed to speed up the performance of your application by caching the route computation results.

When the router cache file is enabled, Slim uses the cachedDispatcher instead of simpleDispatcher to cache the generated routing data and construct the dispatcher from the cached information.

Example cache file:

<?php return array (
  0 => 
  array (
    'GET' => 
    array (
      '/' => 'route0',
      '/users' => 'route1',
      '/customers' => 'route3',
    ),
    'POST' => 
    array (
      '/customers' => 'route2',
    ),
  ),
  1 => 
  array (
  ),
);