Slim v3 error log with option to log errors into both file and database

I am new to slim framework, using slim version 3 and want to implement error logs. I want to use both the type like want to log the errors to a file and some errors i want to add to the database tables. Which is the better way or how to do , please help me.

I would probably use Monolog if you are looking to send errors to multiple places. There is an example of its use in the Slim-Skeleton. The package is (1) required in composer, (2) given some settings, (3) added to the container, and you can see where it will be fired (4) in this route.

I had this same question. In the past I have written my own, clunky log class, but I’m trying to go with the flow here.

I like logging lowest level (INFO), ie: user activity, to the Database but log warning, errors, etc to a text file. And to complicate matters even more I usually create a single text file per day. I always thought this was the easiest way to see if the app was running smoothly.

I’ve been looking at the skeleton app but it appears to only log things to file: /…/logs/app.log

Any advice on this?

You can use Monolog to send different types of logs to different places by creating additional handlers.

For day based log files, your settings.php file (from the Slim-Skeleton) might look like this:

<?php

$logDate = new DateTime();

return [
    'settings' => [
        'displayErrorDetails' => true, // set to false in production
        'addContentLengthHeader' => false, // Allow the web server to send the content-length header
        // Renderer settings
        'renderer' => [
            'template_path' => __DIR__ . '/../templates/',
        ],
        // Monolog settings
        'logger' => [
            'name' => 'my-app',
            'path' => __DIR__ . '/../logs/' . $logDate->format('Y-m-d') . 'app.log',
        ],
    ],
];

$logDate->format('Y-m-d') . 'app.log’ … duh… stupid me :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: