File uploading in Rest Api using slim

Is there any demo or code available for file uploading in rest Api. I am new to slim and Rest Api. Any kind of help will be appreciated. Thanks

You might have a look at this PR for an example.

1 Like

There is a good tutorial here that was published recently. It even provides a Unit Testing part.

How does this function work for Rest Api? Also I need to send uploaded file into database.

For a simple file upload, you can upload a file by sending a PUT or POST request and putting the file contents in the request body. On the receiving side (Slim), you then store the content.

Below is an example:

<?php

require_once __DIR__ . '/vendor/autoload.php';

use Slim\Http\Request;
use Slim\Http\Response;

$app = new Slim\App();

$app->post('/upload', function (Request $request, Response $response) {
    $id = bin2hex(random_bytes(16)); // generate a unique id

// optionally send the content type in the header
    $contentType = $request->getHeader('Content-Type') ?? 'application/octet-stream';

// the request body is the content of the file
    $data = $request->getBody()->getContents();
    file_put_contents($id, $data);

// return some information on the file we just stored
    return $response->withJson([
        'id' => $id,
        'content-type' => $contentType,
        'content-length' => strlen($data)
    ]);
});

$app->run();

And calling this REST API endpoint:

> curl --silent -X POST --data-binary @test.png -H "Content-Type: image/png" localhost:8000/upload | aeson-pretty 
{
    "content-type": [
        "image/png"
    ],
    "id": "11e2ab9ce40408396d887530cb14c3d2",
    "content-length": 366283
}

Note that this example loads the complete uploaded file into memory before storing the data. It will therefore not work for very large files.