Session library with flash message support for Slim 4

Hi folks,

currently, Slim 4 doesn’t support an out-of-the-box solution for session handling and flash messages.

Sure, there are plenty of composer packages and libraries in the wild of the internet. Unfortunately, none of them has session handling combined with flash messages in an easy and simple way.

This circumstance led me to develop a PSR-15 compliant session library for Slim 4. Inspired by the slimness of the framework itself.

Packagist: https://packagist.org/packages/neoflow/session
GitHub: https://github.com/Neoflow/Session

The library requires PHP 7.4 or newer.

I’m not a professional developer with huge experience. PHP is my hobby and I develop mostly in my free time. But what are you thinking about the library? Any feedback?

Thanks,
rjgamer

I’m still a novice myself, but I check it out in my project. I’m currently using 2 packages to handle session and flash, so if it can do what needs done and reduce dependencies, great.

Thanks

1 Like

Currently the library required PHP 7.4. But after my holidays, I will refactor the library to support PHP 7.2 and keep the compatibility to the required PHP version of Slim.

Any other feedbacks?

Hi @rjgamer Currently I’m using Symfony Session with the integrated Flash feature. But anyway, I would like to give some feedback :slight_smile:

• Why do you use classmap and not PSR-4 as autoloader?
  • The empty “files” array can be removed.
  • A SessionInterface would be good for testing purpose.
  • For exeptions a special SessionException class would be good instead of throwing a generic RuntimeException
  • I’m writing unit- and integration tests for my routes. An example of how to test it would be nice.
  • Maybe array_replace_recursive would be more appropriate here

PS: Good work

Thank you so much! I like your feedback and I will adapt the most of your points.

But I don’t get the 2nd last point. What example do you mean?