Slim 4: removing container, alternatives?

I just read in a new post that Slim 4 will not ship with a container.
I’m just getting started using Slim for an API at work that will eventually be a decent size.
This weekend I was looking at containers and thinking about my app scaling and I came across the PHP-DI/Slim-bridge.

Is this a good option? Something else?

Thanks,
Don

@dstefani a container package doesn’t help you to scale your app :smiley:

The point is that for build an application using Slim4 you won’t need a container.
But if you want you can use it for your application.

I am not a fan of big package for really simple stuff.
I build a really simple container https://github.com/moon-php/container and it’s all i need 99.99% of the time.

I don’t see a real example using an huge package for use DI in your application :smiley:

Thanks, your container looks interesting, but right now our server is at PHP 5.6.1. Upgrading would have to happen and that’s a whole other discussion.

Thanks - Don

The nice thing about PHP-DI is the autowiring. Less things you need to setup in your container. However it comes a bit of a speed price.

You could also use Pimple with Slim 4… the same container Slim 3 ships with.

Thanks, I guess my concern is that I will eventually have a lot of routes and if I use the pattern that is encouraged I’ll be building lots of DIC factories. What impact will the changes in Slim 4 have if I want to upgrade?
Perhaps there will be a better solution for DI in v4?

Thanks - Don

If you use a PSR-11 container with Slim 3, I don’t think there will be much headache with that for Slim 4. You can still use a container, much the same. It is just that Slim 4 won’t ship with one.

If you don’t want to write lots of DI factories for your controllers, then use PHP-DI and its autowiring capabilities.