Update version - composer

I know this may not be the place for this claim.

Why slimframework is mandatory to install the composer? Honestly I do not see a decent reason for this requirement.

I and several friends whether we can install this crap composer the more use the updated version of slimframwork. The slim was an easy to use and easy to install and now I can not if you want to update framework. I am a PHP developer for many years have a large business system based on this framework and I am now forced to use this crap called composer, which is not installable.

Frankly it would be so hard to provide a manual installation of slimframework.

We use composer to manage versions of dependencies. It is still possible to use Slim w/o composer it’s just extremely difficult. Perhaps at some point one of us might do a write-up on how to do it.

Composer is in my opinion one of the greatest things that PHP has produced in recent history.

I am now forced to use this crap called composer, which is not installable.

I use composer on both windows and linux.

1 Like

Glad you can use. I use windows and linux. Make use of different technologies such as using js desktop software, website development and web enterprise systems and desktops on different technologies, C ++, Phython, PHP, Node end. And there is always a way to use the manually platform, minus the slimframework.

If you think the composer a wonder, who good. I prefer to install manually. As for me it does not work.

Well, if you insist you can always use a custom autoloader and include all the dependencies yourself. You can find the needed dependencies in the composer.json file. Nobody is stopping you. Good luck.

See well. Before the slim documentation had instructions on how to install with the composer and without the composer. A few years ago when hearing about the composer tried experience. I could not install.